Wednesday, November 30, 2016

Differences between ICSE and ISC

Council of Indian School Certificate Examination (CISCE) is a highly respected and recognised board in India. The CISCE offers two examinations for different levels, namely, the Indian Certificate of Secondary Education Examination (ICSE) for Class X and the Indian School Certificate (ISC) for Class XII. Both have their origins in the Cambridge curriculum (IGCSE). CISCE examination scores are accepted by universities in India and abroad. The curriculum is extremely flexible and students can learn from a variety of subject books, instead of a single prescribed text book. Students of ISC and ICSE schools also have a wealth of courses to pick from. 

Here is the overview of ISCE and ISC exams:

Indian Certificate of Secondary Education (ICSE) -  Class X

Indian Certificate of Secondary Education (ICSE) provides a framework for a ten year course from Class I to Class X. The ISCE requires students to study six subjects as well as Socially Useful Productive Work (SUPW). To be eligible for  the examination, the students should have compulsorily completed the following:  A third language from at least Class V to Class VIII (Internal Examination), Art (Internal Assessment),  Socially Useful Productive Work and Community Service (Internal Assessment), Physical Education and Education in Moral and Spiritual Values. 

Students can select subjects from three subject groups. At the end of Class X, students appear for their exam through their respective ISCE schools, for subjects of their choice. Group I comprises of compulsory subjects: English, Second Language and History, Civics and Geography. Group II allows students to select two or three subjects from among Mathematics, Science, Economics, Commercial Studies, a Modern Foreign Language, a Classical Language and Environmental Science. Students can select any one subject from Group III. Students are not allowed to pick the same subjects from both Group II and Group III. They are to typically offer both Science and Mathematics from Group II.

Any of the valid subject combinations will be accepted into ISC (Class XII)

Indian School Certificate (ISC) - Class XII

Indian School Certificate (ISC) is a two year course, offered in English. A student can apply for Class XI after successful completion of Class X or its equivalent. It is not applicable to private students.
A student who has passed English and four other written subjects under their respective, recognised board at a Class X / equivalent examination taken at the same sitting may be considered eligible for admissions to Class XII. 
A student who opts for ISC has English as a compulsory subject and can have three, four or five elective subjects. SUPW and community service is also compulsory. Class XI examinations will be graded internally by the school and the Class XII examinations will be evaluated externally by the Council.
Trio World School is one of the fastest growing ICSE schools in Bangalore. Trio currently offers ICSE up to Class VII, and has a well defined future roadmap leading up to ISC. 

No comments:

Post a Comment